//
you're reading...
Books, Culture, Government, Life

It is what it is, quotes from the Rogue

Quotable RogueThe book “The Quotable Rogue” is a book of quotes from Sarah Palin organized into different categories or topics.  Categories include abortion, Obama, the recession, the Tea Party, Tina Fey and everything in between.  In large measure the book is exactly what you’d expect it to be.  There is a brief introduction of the subject of the book by the “author” (I use quotes there because the introduction is the most writing he does in the entire book, he’s more of an editor/compiler for this work).  There are enough quotes in each section to give you the sense of her positions on each topic.

Now, I don’t hate Palin (I’m not as enamored by her as some are either) so I wasn’t sure exactly how I would react to the quotes.  For the most part, I found I agree with her on a great many issues.  I also found without the speech patterns and accent many quotes sound a lot more thoughtful and intelligent than when you hear her speak them.  I think that makes the book valuable as a tool for self-refection.  If we find her to seem dumb when speaking but the same thing doesn’t sound dumb when read it’s more a reflection of our own bias than of the person doing the speaking.

Unfortunately the people who need that self-reflection the most will probably not get much from this book, if they even pick it up.  Too often in our political landscape people don’t give the other guy a fair look. You see it on both sides.  Of course that tangent could lead to an almost entirely unrelated discussion to this book review.

Would I recommend this book?  I don’t know.  I’m not sorry I read it, however if I was going to spend $15 on a book I might (probably would) put that money elsewhere.  Not that the book is bad, but it is what it is.  It is a list of quotes by Sarah Palin.  And unless she’s running for public office (I don’t believe she is) what she thinks or believes is more of a curiosity than something I feel I need to know.

I did receive this book as part of Thomas Nelson’s BookSneeze program that provides books to bloggers for free.  The opinions are my own.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

