//
you're reading...
Books, Life, origins

A great way to explore “The World of Animals”

I received a copy of “The World of Animals” published by Master Books as a review copy.  It is, in essence a companion book to “The World of Science” book I reviewed last week on this blog.  The book is a larger format book (about the approximate dimensions of a magazine only about an inch thick with hard covers.  This is something like a basic biology text book.  It is broken into seven main sections (1.Simple Animals, 2. Worms, Snails,  & Starfish,  3. Insects & other Arthropods, 4. Fish,  5. Amphibians & Reptiles,  6. Birds, and lastly 7. Mammals).  Each section is of approximately the same length (30 pages) with the exception of Mammals with about twice as many as the other sections.  The pages are glossy with many colorful pictures.

I do like this book.  I don’t like it as much as I did the science book, but I suspect that is partly due to it not having the same “experiments” section as the other book.  I understand why but as a “hands on” kind of person I did like the inclusion of that section in the other book.  The book is very popular with both my 11 and 7 year old sons.  It’s got enough meat in the text that it doesn’t bore my older son but the colorful pictures help my younger son enjoy looking through it (even if he can’t read it all yet).

I’m please I got this book.  Come to think of it, I’m nearly always pleased with the offerings from Master Books.  I can’t wait to see what the next offering will be.

I did receive this book free of charge for the purposes of this review.  That fact hasn’t changed my opinion of the book.  The opinions are my own.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

