//
you're reading...
Culture, Government, Life

Am I a closet “Doomsday Prepper”

There is a new show on the National Geographic channel called “Doomsday Preppers.”  I’ve known a few preppers in my life, I’m even related to some, so it’s not unfamiliar territory for me.  And while the network, I feel, is trying to portray them as a little bit on the crazy side, I do really enjoy the show.  Perhaps it’s because it scratches the prepper itch inside me or perhaps I just like the tone of the show (I’ve always been a fan of the post-apocalyptic).  I suppose it doesn’t really matter.  I just find it fun (and at times informative) TV.

I do have something of a prepper streak in me, at least when compared to my wife.  Currently I working to finish out my plans to allow us 72 hours to a week of food and water just in case.  This isn’t really an end of the world scenario but more of an idea that if something does happen locally that would keep me from being in my home, I wouldn’t have a problem making that work.  It involves what I would call a two stage plan.

First will be what I call my “Out Bag” which will contain things I should always have with me.  I have had type 1 diabetes for nearly 30 years and so I need to make sure I have a few days’ worth of insulin with me at all times.  This with a variety of other items that I could need in the event of an emergency will make up the Out bag.

Second is the Bug out Bag.  This will contain food/water/shelter for a few days to a week with other more “survival” geared items.  I don’t have this planned out as far as the Out Bag and I’m currently doing research into what should go into it, so I’m open for suggestions.

Is the end of the world near?  I think so.  And while I don’t think it’s necessary to take prepping to the extreme that these people do, I certainly understand the desire.  My confidence is more a reflection of my faith than anything else.   If it wasn’t for my own personal views on how I think the “end of days” will play out, I could easily see me putting together the kind of systems I’ve seen on the show.

Good show though.

Discussion

5 thoughts on “Am I a closet “Doomsday Prepper”

  1. You tube has some great training on Bug our bags.
    http://www.youtube.com/users/nutnfancy (Former military/current reservist who has a marvelous training channel)
    www. survival.com (Former Green Beret and his wife started, he has passed unfortunately, but she is well trained by him)
    http://www.youtube.com/users/equip2endure (again former military, but good info)
    http://www.mykelhawke.com (former green beret with awesome training tips)
    There is a wealth of information available on the net, but, pray for discernment as some do not provide the correct information.
    In regard to your insulin; how much can you store and for how long? A couple of days worth may not be enough.
    God bless you in your preparedness brother,
    Ed

    Posted by edwardmayfield | March 3, 2012, 9:56 am
    • Hi Ed

      Thanks for the tips. As far as the insulin, I have about 6 months worth of it stored but for long term like that it needs to be refrigerated so I can’t keep it on me all the time. Recently there was an event locally that made a lot of town have to evacuate (we were just outside the evac zone) so that is the type of event the “go bag” would be for. Even so it’s something worth considering.

      Thanks again good luck and God bless with your own prepping.

      Jon

      Posted by Far Out Madman | March 3, 2012, 11:26 am
      • Jon,
        For the purpose of my own training and understanding, what temperature is required for the storage of your insulin.
        I am curious to what type of mechanism or system could be devised to help you with this issue.
        This is going to quite a challenge. I would be so happy if I could help you solve this emergency issue.
        Ed

        Posted by edwardmayfield | March 3, 2012, 12:21 pm
      • Hi Ed

        The pens need to be stored between 36-46 degrees. However when they’re being used they can be kept at room temperature for a few days. I normally keep a pen or two with me depending on the level in them but in my head the out bag would have 3 of the meal pens and one of the daily pens (different types of insulin).

        The summer months present the biggest problem. Winters here are mild enough to keep it outside with little problems from freezing.

        Thanks for the thoughts on this. It’s always good to be prepared for things.

        Jon

        Posted by Far Out Madman | March 3, 2012, 2:03 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Planning for disaster (with me you always should) « Ramblings of a Farout Madman - March 27, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

