//
you're reading...
Books, Church, God, Life

The ESV Grow! Bible can help your kids grow with God

As a father of two boys (7 and 11) I’m always on the lookout for new ways to teach them spiritual truth.  So the probably have more Bibles in most boys their age.  A particularly successful purchase was the “Action Bible” which for some reason I have never written a review of.  Perhaps it was purchased before my blog existed, I don’t recall.  But I digress.  I recently received a copy of the “Grow Bible” by Crossway.  They did send it to me free of charge for the purposes of this review.  With that said, it didn’t change my opinion on it.

First of all, this Bible, as you might be able to guess, is in the ESV translation.  That’s not surprising as it is Crossway’s “in house” translation.  I’ll be honest, that’s a great thing for me.  I really like the translation.  Do I think it’s perfect?  No, but it is one of the best ones out there.  I am part of a church family that practically believes the KJV is the translation Paul used.  However there is a growing acceptance of this translation in our ranks.  It is certainly easier to understand for the age group this Bible is aimed at (8-13 year olds).

One thing I really like about this Bible is it makes it visually clear what are study notes and what is scripture.  When kids are reading this Bible you don’t want them being unsure what is and what is not inspired and I think this delineates that well.  It also (like the Seek and Find Bible) makes use of some of the ESV Study Bible materials.  For a study Bible the ESV study Bible is hard to beat and adding some of those resources here make for a great addition.

The ESV Grow! Bible has many great added bits of information!

The only thing that gave me pause was that my 11 year old son (who is clearly in the target zone for this Bible) was less than enthusiastic about it.  He seemed to find the layout and design of the Seek and Find Bible (also by Crossway) more appealing even though it was targeted at a younger audience.  That may not be normative as my older son is a bit of a reluctant reader.  But it does make me wonder if it misses the mark when it comes to their target.  By and large the text of the two Bibles are very similar (the scriptures themselves being exactly the same) so I don’t know if I can blame it on his fondness for reading.  I wonder if perhaps the book looks to adults as though it’s great for his age group but for some reason doesn’t really fit.

All and all I think this is a great Bible filled with great tools to help your child deepen their walk with God.

For more from Crossings visit their blog at www.crossway.org/blog

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: What Parents are Saying About the ESV Grow! Bible | Crossway - June 1, 2012

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

