//
you're reading...
Books, Culture, God, Life, origins

Make this your guide to Yellowstone National Park!!

Your Guide to Yellowstone and Grand Teton National ParksI received a copy of “Your Guide to Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks” from Master Books for the purposes of writing this review.  It hasn’t affected my review.  And the opinions are my own.

To be honest I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect when I requested this book.  First of all, I did not realize that casebound meant that it was in a cover but spiral bound.  But it the case of this book it works well.  The book promises to present viewing and visiting the parks with a creationist perspective.

First the guide hits a lot of the regular travel guide stuff, maps, weather, points of interest, all of that type of information.  Then there are the “examine” sections.  These sections point out many of the distinct features of these two parks and then presents some of the points that would support a recent creation.  And each individual feature or location presented also includes a fold out section to allow for more detailed information and pictures.  The final sections of the guides go over some basic concepts such as world view differences and how those differences tell us how to make sense of the facts we see.  I think that is a great idea as it will help to show how the creationist perspective is viable.  You can of course, disagree with me there, and I’d be happy to discuss it.

But most of all, the guide does what any good travel guide should do.  It makes me want to visit the location it is talking about.  I never had any strong desire to visit Yellowstone.  Now I do.  Plus this guide is one of a series of guides in the “True North Series” of guides.  I am hoping they produce one for Yosemite since I live in California and would love to see a guide like this for that park as well.

If you’re planning a trip to Yellowstone or Grand Teton National Park pick up a copy of this guide.  If you’re not, pick it up anyway, it might inspire you.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Make this your guide to Yellowstone National Park!!

  1. I think I just might! I’m coming home to the states for a few weeks this summer, and I’ve been jonesing for some Yellowstone. Seriously one of the most stunning places on the planet!! Thanks for the suggestion.

    Posted by Backpackology.org | June 1, 2012, 1:16 pm
    • It really is a great guide. Living in California I’ve always looked at Yosemite as the pinnacle of the National Parks. This guide makes it clear I can’t take that for granted. I’ll be planning a trip to Yellowstone soon.

      Posted by Far Out Madman | June 1, 2012, 5:41 pm

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

