//
you're reading...
Books, Film

Mariah Mundi’s The Adventurer: Definately the Curse of Something

About a year and a half ago I wrote a review of a great book named Mariah Mundi and the Midas Box written by G.P. Taylor.  I really enjoyed the book (as I have others by Mr. Taylor).  There was more good news, not only had the book been optioned for a film, but it had begin production.  This was happy news indeed.  I began following the film on Twitter shortly after getting a twitter account.  I was very excited about this book becoming a film.

This is the look I had while watching this film.

This is the look I had while watching this film.

I first became concerned with the film when the release of the film was pushed back from spring of 2013 until winter of that same year.  Not a huge deal to be sure, but still, not something I like to see.  Then in the fall of 2013 I noticed that they had changed the title of the film.  It was no longer titled after the book.  Now it was The Adventurer: The Curse of the Midas Box.  That is a decidedly cheesy sounding name.  Something a made for TV movie on SciFi or TNT staring Noah Wylie would be named (you know what I’m talking about).

Then I found out it was going to be in limited release in January of 2014.  But it was available to watch on DirecTV via On Demand in November of 2013.  That’s really bad news.

Well I just watched it.  And I’d bet it might possibly be the worst book adaptation ever committed to film.  It is horrifically bad.  There are characters with the same names as the books, but almost all of their motivations are different.  Mariah now has a brother, who is named after a character that is barely in the book, and is no friend of Mariah’s.  His parents feature much more prominently and are changed significantly from the book (particularly his father).  Even the Midas Box itself is different.

If you’ve read the book, please don’t see this movie.

If you haven’t read the book, please, don’t see this movie.

It’s one of those films you try to figure out how to reclaim the lost hour and a half you wasted watching it.  Honestly I couldn’t say enough bad things about it.

So, I’ll leave it at that.  Don’t see it.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

