//
you're reading...
Books, Culture, God, Life

What’s Your Worldview: A Review

WhatsYourWorldviewI recently read the book What’s Your Worldview by James N. Anderson.  Short disclaimer though; I received this book for free from Crossway for the purpose of review.  That has not changed my opinion of the book or changed this review.  There, now on with the review.

I’ve read a number of books on worldviews and how they affect how you interpret the world you see, and how you live your life so it’s not unfamiliar territory.  Still I was intrigued for two reasons.   First, it’s a questioning title.  This implies that there is to be some self-discovery.  Perhaps not, but that’s how I took it.  Secondly the book is very thin, about 100 pages.  Most books in this genre tend to be a bit weightier.

I opened it up and started reading.  It starts talking about free will.  I’m a believer in free will but that’s beside the point (in more ways than one, more on that in a minute).  But as I get to the end of the section (and it is pretty short), it has me make a choice.  Do I or do I not believe in free will?  And it has instructions to turn to a page, depending on my choice.  That’s right; it’s in the style of a Choose Your Own Adventure book.  That’s fantastic!  Then there was a bonus.  At the end of the free will section it didn’t matter if you did or didn’t believe in free will, you still turned to the same page.  A bit of a joke on the part of the author.  Immediately I knew I would like the author.  That’s a good joke.

So the book runs through a series of questions, each one leading to different questions depending on how you answer it.  Sometimes it gives you the opportunity to re-evaluate the answer you gave and go back and make a different choice or push on with the choice you made.  I found it to be a very engaging format.  I even read it through a few times just making more, random choices to see where it led.

I enjoyed the book.  I will probably go through it again (much like a CYOA).  I don’t know if there were any surprises or revelations in it for me, but then again, I’ve read more than a couple books on this subject already.  Would I recommend this book?  Yes.  It’s a very easy to digest little book that does ask some thought provoking questions.  It is true that it leans Christian in its presentation but I don’t think that’s a problem, nor do I think the author would apologize for that.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

