//
you're reading...
Culture, Life, Technology

Switching Ecosystems?

So, for the last 6 years I’ve had an iPhone (with a small exception when I tried to remove myself from smart phones). After all that time I think I’ve settled into what I will use a smart phone for.

  1. Check Email.
  2. Check Social Media (Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, etc.)
  3. Mobile Banking
  4. Paying Bills
  5. Checking Weather
  6. Maps
  7. Occasional games
  8. Amazon
  9. Light Web Browsing

There may be a few other things, but I can’t think of them at the moment. I was thinking I can do all of that on just about any smart phone on the market.  Maybe I should switch. But why leave the iOS ecosystem if that’s all you do. Well there are a few things I’d like to be able to do on my phone.

  1. Have more storage. Once you buy an iPhone, that’s how much storage you have. You have to buy a new phone to get more storage.
  2. I know I can read on my iPhone but the screen is so small that a 200 page book becomes 1200 page turns on the device. I find that annoying and a bit distracting.
  3. Write blog posts. I know that technically I can. I have the WordPress app. However, much like reading the screen is so small I can’t get a proper sense for the post. Plus there are a lack of good formatting tools within the app for me to make use of.
  4. I’d like a bigger screen. I’m getting old and my eyes don’t work as good as they used to. So more space for text would be better.

So, with this in mind I’m thinking of switching to the Nokia Lumina 1520. It’s a 6’ phone so that will take care of most of the issues right there. It has a micro SD card slot which is great for adding storage. And it runs Windows Phone 8.1. That means I can edit Microsoft Office documents right on my phone, natively. That will help with getting well formatted (and spelled) blog posts. The ecosystem has matured enough that the app store has all the apps I actually need (and many that I might want). The question is, “Do I really want to switch ecosystems?”

That is where you come in. Has anyone switched from iOS to Windows Phone? How was it? Any tricks or tips?

Thanks

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

