//
you're reading...
Books, Culture, Life

Modern Pioneering by Georgia Pellegrini

MPCoverI’ve been interested in sustainable living as of late. You know, gardening, repurposing, that kind of thing. So when I was offered a book called “Modern Pioneering” from Blogging for Books, I jumped at the chance. Here’s where I’ll tell you that I did receive this book for free from the publisher for the purposes of this review and these are my personal and honest opinions.

So when I received the book the first thing I noticed is that I liked the format. I don’t know about everyone but the book is formatted in such a way that everything is broken up into small, very digestible pieces of information. I like that. Over all, the book was also laid out well and had a pleasing layout/art direction. Almost a magazine style lay out. Very colorful and everything flows logically.

There is a lot of great information on what to grow based on your climate, taste, etc. Instructions how to build planters, and other such projects litter the pages.

Overall I really like this book. There are only two things I didn’t particularly like.

First, most of the book is recipes (not just for food, more on that in a second). Easily two thirds of the content is such. I was really hoping for more “how to” and not so much what to do with things once you have them.

Secondly, I think this may be just based on the fact I am not the target audience of this book. I didn’t realize that when I requested it but the target audience for this book is women. I know this because the back cover says “Self-sufficiency is the ultimate girl power!” Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for “girl power” I suppose (depends on how you define it really) but I wasn’t interested in adding flower petals to my suckers or making lip gloss from beets.

My guess is that if you really like the show “Pioneer Woman” then you will like this book. It’s very much in the same vein.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

