//
you're reading...
Books, Culture

Ghosts from Our Pasts

I’m the type of person who likes to collect things that look as though they could be lifted out of the fictional environment they were conceived in.  In the case of films this is most often expressed as prop replicas.  I have the obligatory Sting from the Lord of the Rings films (not the stainless version the carbon steel “museum” edition that United Cutlery created back in the early 2000s).  Even when I’m not wholly interested in a property I like these types of things.  I have a journal that is supposed to look like it belongs to the lead character in the Uncharted series of video games.  Never played the games but the journal had a nice, in world feel.

So when I was offered a free copy (for the purposes of review) of Ghosts from Our Past: Both Literally and Figuratively, I was happy to take a look.  I loved the original Ghostbusters films.  I haven’t seen the reboot (it didn’t look like it was doing the original justice and I don’t rush out to see films like I used to), so know that upfront.

My understanding of this book is that it is supposed to server as both a brief biography of the main characters in the film and something like Tobin’s Spirit Guide from the first film.  It does the first job ok.  It’s a primer on who the characters are.  The second part of the book I found more confusing.  If the book functions as a guide for the characters it doesn’t make sense for the characters to have written it.  In the original films the book the referenced (TSG) was an authority above the characters.  It had knowledge they didn’t.  So this can’t serve in that capacity.

I guess my biggest problem with it is the book doesn’t know what it’s supposed to be.  Had the biographies been replaced (there is actually a section for them) or the stories worked into the guide portion of the book I would have found it more compelling as an actual in world item.  The inclusion of the biography section made it feel more like movie tie in than a “replica” of an item from the world created by the movie.

It’s not bad, but it’s not good either.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Archive

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 138 other followers

